Syndetics cover image
Image from Syndetics

The house that whispers / Lin Thompson.

By: Material type: TextTextPublisher: New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2023Copyright date: ©2023Edition: First editionDescription: 330 pages ; 19 cmContent type:
  • text
Media type:
  • unmediated
Carrier type:
  • volume
ISBN:
  • 9780316277112
  • 0316277118
Subject(s): Genre/Form: Summary: "Simon, an eleven-year-old coming to terms with his gender identity, is convinced that his grandmother's house is haunted"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: TDoV - Youth
Holdings
Item type Home library Collection Call number Materials specified Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Children's Book Children's Book Dr. James Carlson Library Children's Fiction THOMPSON LIN Available 33111011043896
Children's Book Children's Book Main Library Children's Fiction THOMPSON LIN Available 33111010972517
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

From the author of The Best Liars in Riverview comes a subtle exploration of gender identity, family, and the personal ghosts that haunt us all, perfect for fans of Kyle Lukoff and Ashley Herring Blake.



Eleven-year-old Simon and his siblings, Talia and Rose, are staying the week at Nanaleen's century-old house. This time, though, it's not their usual summer vacation trip. In fact, everything's different. It's fall, not summer. Mom and Dad are staying behind to have a "talk." And Nanaleen's house smells weird, plus she keeps forgetting things. And these aren't the only things getting under Simon's skin: He's the only one who knows that his name is Simon, and that he and him pronouns are starting to feel right. But he's not ready to add to the changes that are already in motion in his family.



To make matters worse, Simon keeps hearing a scratching in the walls, and shadows are beginning to build in the corners. He can't shake the feeling that something is deeply wrong...and he's determined to get to the bottom of it--which means launching a ghost hunt, with or without his sisters' help. When Simon discovers the hidden story of his great-aunt Brie, he realizes that Brie's life might hold answers to some of his worries. Is Brie's ghost haunting the old O'Hagan house? And will Simon's search for ghosts turn up more secrets than he ever expected?

Ages 8-12. Little, Brown and Company.

"Simon, an eleven-year-old coming to terms with his gender identity, is convinced that his grandmother's house is haunted"-- Provided by publisher.

Powered by Koha