Syndetics cover image
Image from Syndetics

The otherwoods / Justine Pucella Winans.

By: Material type: TextTextPublisher: New York : Bloomsbury Children's Books, 2023Copyright date: ©2023Description: 280 pages ; 22 cmContent type:
  • text
Media type:
  • unmediated
Carrier type:
  • volume
ISBN:
  • 9781547612543
  • 1547612541
Subject(s): Genre/Form: Summary: When twelve-year-old River's only friend is kidnapped and dragged to the terrifying spirit world of The Otherwoods, they have no choice but to face the world's monsters and their own fears to become the hero they were destined to be.
List(s) this item appears in: TDoV - Youth | READALIKE: Ghost Stories Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
Holdings
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Materials specified Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Children's Book Children's Book Dr. James Carlson Library Children's Fiction New WINANS JUSTINE Available 33111011085863
Children's Book Children's Book Main Library Children's Fiction WINANS JUSTINE Available 33111011184740
Children's Book Children's Book Northport Library Children's Fiction New WINANS JUSTINE Available 33111011135239
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A Stonewall Honor Winner
Indie Next Pick
PW Best Book of the Year
Booklist Editor's Pick

The Otherwoods is calling. And it won't be ignored.

Some would call River Rydell a 'chosen one': born with the ability to see monsters and travel to a terrifying spirit world called The Otherwoods, they have all the makings of a hero. But River just calls themself unlucky. After all, it's not like anyone actually believes River can see these things-or that anyone even believes monsters exist in the first place. So the way River sees it, it's better to keep their head down and ignore anything Otherwoods related.

But The Otherwoods won't be ignored any longer.

When River's only friend (and crush) Avery is kidnapped and dragged into The Otherwoods by monsters, River has no choice but to confront the world they've seen only in their nightmares-but reality turns out be more horrifying than they could have ever imagined. With only their cat for protection and a wayward teen spirit as their guide, River must face the monsters of The Otherwoods and their own fears to save Avery and become the hero they were (unfortunately) destined to be.

Justine Pucella Winans will have you cowering and cackling as you follow River's reluctant hero's journey, perfect for fans of Doll Bones, Ghost Squad, and Too Bright to See.

Ages 8-12. Bloomsbury Children's Books.

Grades 4-6. Bloomsbury Children's Books.

When twelve-year-old River's only friend is kidnapped and dragged to the terrifying spirit world of The Otherwoods, they have no choice but to face the world's monsters and their own fears to become the hero they were destined to be.

Powered by Koha